Purpose: This is a guide on how to easily cancel a label, and what happens if you miss the cancellation deadline. Provided that you cancel the label before 23:59 on the day of creation, you will not be charged.
How to cancel a label
Select the shipment(s) that you want to delete from your Created Labels overview. Select Cancel from the dropdown menu. Confirm the cancellation. The label will now be moved to your Cancelled labels tab.
Note: the label's cancellation can take up until two weeks to be completed
Optional: How to delete a label
You are also able to delete a shipment from the 'Shipment details'. You will then see the button 'Cancel shipment'. Clicking this button also leads to the shipment being cancelled.
Please pay attention to the different cancellation-deadlines carriers use. Below is an overview of the cancellation-deadlines from the different carriers.
|DHL DE||*See below|
*Note regarding DHL DE:
For labels created before 16:00, the cancellation can be done until 17:55. After this time the labels cannot be canceled. For labels created after 18:00, cancellation can be done within 2 hours after the announcement time (e.g., if announced at 19:00, it can be cancelled until 21:00). You will also receive a pickup report for these labels created after 18:00.
I cancelled a label, but it appears again under the Created labels tab. Why is this, and what do I do now?
This sometimes occurs when Sencloud sends a cancellation request through to a carrier, and they disallow cancellation of the shipment. The following carriers do not respond to cancellation requests:
- DHL UK
- DPD AT
- GLS NL
In order for the cancellation to be processed, you need to also delete the label in Sendcloud to prevent it from re-appearing in Created labels. The above section [Optional: How to delete a label] describes the steps you need to take.
Q: Am I charged for cancelling a label?
A: If you cancel a label, but it's later scanned by a carrier, you will receive a 1 EUR charge on your invoice under the reason "Reversed cancellation".
Q: What happens when I miss the cancellation deadline?
A: Don't worry, you will still be able to cancel your shipment within 42 days after creating the shipment. The costs for this shipment will be corrected on your next invoice. If you do not manage to cancel your shipment within those 42 days, the costs of the shipment can no longer be credited.
Q: I have an outstanding invoice for a label that I have already cancelled, what should I do?
A: You must pay this bill, and our system will automatically reimburse you on your next invoice.
: How does Sendcloud reimburse me for shipping costs?
A: If the parcel is not shipped, the cost of the label will be automatically deducted from your next invoice OR you will receive a refund via direct debit to the bank account associated with your account. For more information on how unused labels are refunded, see this article.
Q: Why was my label for UPS not cancelled?
A: When you create a UPS label for shipping outside the EU, Sendcloud automatically sends the commercial invoice via paperless trade to UPS. UPS forwards this invoice to customs and activates the tracking of the shipment. That's why they can't be cancelled any more. We recommend that you use extreme caution when shipping with UPS, and review the data before creating the label.