Purpose: This is a guide on how to easily cancel a label, and what happens if you miss the cancellation deadline. Provided that you cancel the label before 23:59 on the day of creation, you will not be charged.
How to cancel a label
Select the shipment(s) that you want to cancel in your Created Labels overview. Select Cancel from the dropdown menu (next to Print label). Confirm the cancellation and the label will be moved to your Cancelled labels tab.
Note: the label's cancellation can take up until two weeks to be completed.
Please pay attention to the different cancellation-deadlines carriers use.
*Note regarding DHL Germany:
For labels created before 16:00, the cancellation can be done until 17:55. After this time the labels cannot be canceled. For labels created after 18:00, cancellation can be done within 2 hours after the announcement time (e.g., if announced at 19:00, it can be cancelled until 21:00). You will also receive a pickup report for these labels created after 18:00.
*Note regarding Chronopost (France):
You can cancel the label yourself until 18:00 on the day of creation. After this time, your label can be cancelled for up to 42 days, but you will need to contact our customer service to cancel it for you.
*Note regarding XCover:
If your parcel has not been shipped yet, both the origin and destination countries are the same (domestic), and the label is older than 30 days, you can only cancel the parcel itself. The insurance cannot be canceled at this stage. You will receive a refund for the parcel cost, excluding the insurance charges.
Optional: How to delete a label
You are also able to delete a shipment from the 'Shipment details. Click on the "Actions" button and then "Delete". This action will cancel the label and visually delete it from your Sendcloud account.
Delete incoming orders
If you want to delete incoming orders in Sendcloud, you need to select the order(s) by clicking on the check box in front. Next you click on the button with the trash can icon
Delete selected orders. You can select one order, or delete multiple orders in bulk.
What should I do if the order gets reimported in Sendcloud
If the orders are reloaded back into Sendcloud after deleting, it means that the fulfilment status of the order in your webshop hasn't changed yet. This leads to Sendcloud importing the order again, thinking it hasn't been processed yet. To avoid this, you can mark the order as fulfilled in your shop system. The order should then no longer be reimported.
Store pick ups
When you don't want to delete orders from Sendcloud but you also don't want to create a shipping label - for example, when customer pick up their order at your store - we have another workflow that might help. Please consult our How to process a store pickup article to read more.
I cancelled a label, but it appears again under the Created labels tab. Why is this, and what do I do now?
This sometimes occurs when Sendcloud sends a cancellation request through to a carrier, and they disallow cancellation of the shipment. The following carriers do not respond to cancellation requests:
- DHL UK
- DPD AT
- GLS NL
In order for the cancellation to be processed, you need to also delete the label in Sendcloud to prevent it from re-appearing in Created labels. The above section [Optional: How to delete a label] describes the steps you need to take.
Q: Am I charged for cancelling a label?
A: If you cancel a label, but it's later scanned by a carrier, you will receive a 1 EUR charge on your invoice under the reason "Reversed cancellation".
Q: What happens when I miss the cancellation deadline?
A: Don't worry, you will still be able to cancel your shipment within 42 days after creating the shipment. The costs for this shipment will be corrected on your next invoice. If you do not manage to cancel your shipment within those 42 days, the costs of the shipment can no longer be credited.
Q: I have an outstanding invoice for a label that I have already cancelled, what should I do?
A: You must pay this bill, and our system will automatically reimburse you on your next invoice.
Q: How does Sendcloud reimburse me for shipping costs?
A: If the parcel is not shipped, the cost of the label will be automatically deducted from your next invoice OR you will receive a refund via direct debit to the bank account associated with your account. For more information on how unused labels are refunded, see this article.
Q: What happens to my insurance after I cancel the label?A: When the label is cancelled, so is the insurance; we won't charge the insurance costs. If you use the label of a cancelled parcel, it's no longer insured.
Q: Why was my label for UPS not cancelled?
A: When you create a UPS label for shipping outside the EU, Sendcloud automatically sends the commercial invoice via paperless trade to UPS. UPS forwards this invoice to customs and activates the tracking of the shipment. That's why they can't be cancelled any more. We recommend that you use extreme caution when shipping with UPS, and review the data before creating the label.